Hosted by Chris Richardson, Staff Engineer

NoSQL databases such as MongoDB and Cassandra can simplify the persistence of complex data models and offer significantly better scalability and performance. But these databases have a very different and unfamiliar data model and APIs as well as a limited transaction model. Additionally the relational world is fighting back with so-called NewSQL databases such as VoltDB, which use a radically different architecture for high scalability and performance as well as the familiar relational model and ACID transactions. In this presentation you will learn about popular MongoDB, and Cassandra as well as VoltDB. We will compare and contrast each database’s data model and Java API using NoSQL and NewSQL versions of a use case from the book POJOs in Action. We will learn about the benefits and drawbacks of using NoSQL and NewSQL databases.

When: March 22, 1:00 p.m. EST / 10:00 a.m. PST, 2:00 p.m. Argentina

Register here

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditlinkedinby feather

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>